Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Happy Cinco De Mayo!

Well I have put together my meal for this holiday in about an hour.  I always forget I am cooking for one for the next couple of months .   Good thing I know a few friends I can pack some of it up for!  Here is my creation for today! (I sometimes add shredded rotisserie  chicken)

Cheese and Green Chili Enchilada’s

For the Sauce (you can use canned if you prefer)

Sauce Ingredients

Sauce Ingredients

1 Tble spoon Olive oil,  1/8 cup Minced onion,   1/2 tsp oregano,   1/2 tsp Basil,   1/2 tsp Cumin,   3 tsp Chili Powder,   1/8 tsp Black pepper,  1/8 tsp Salt,   6oz Can of Tomato Sauce,  1/2 cup of Salsa, 3 Cloves Garlic (minced),   1 Tble spoon chopped Cilantro,    1  1/4 cups Water.

Heat the oil in a sauce pan over med/low heat.  Add garlic and saute for 2 min.  Add the rest of the ingredients (stirring in between) except water.  Cook 2 min.  Add Water and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer at Low Heat for 20 min.

Enchilada's ready to go into oven for 30 Min

Enchilada's ready to go into oven for 30 Min

For Enchilada’s

Prepare Casserole dish by spraying with Canola oil. I used 4 Flour tortilla’s and laid them in the dish as I filled them.  First take one flour tortilla, lay  a whole green chili (I bought a small can), then a slice of Cream cheese (Lite), some chopped onion (optional),  a handful of  a  mix of shredded cheddar & Jack cheese.  Start at one end and roll in dish as the outer Tortilla will coat with oil as you roll.  Then repeat with remaining Tortilla’sThen Spray the top with the Canola oil and put in the oven for 20-30 min @ 350

Rolled and ready for the oven!

Rolled and ready for the oven!

Time To Assemble!

After 20 Min remove from oven and pour sauce over top and add 1 Cup (or more) of Shreaded cheese and onions(optional_ and Chopped CilantroPut back in oven for 5 Minutes to Melt Cheese.

Adding Sauce

Adding Sauce

Ready to back into the oven!

Ready to back into the oven!

And then remove from oven after 5 min and cover with foil for another 10 min (to let flavors meld together)…Then  Serve!

dsc_0162

Happy Cinco De Mayo!!!!!!!!

May 5, 2009 - Posted by | Mexican, recipes | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Looks yummy! I’m going to make that the next time I’m in the mood for some enchiladas. BTW, I love your blog!

    Comment by Amy Brown | May 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you! The enchilada’s were so good. The sauce was a little spicy but that is how I like it! I am glad you like the blog. It is my first one and I have thought about doing one for years! Thank you!!!!

      Comment by winterwheat1 | May 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

