Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Pasta with Broccoli & Carmelized onions and Garlic

Pasta with lots of garlic & caramelized onions then throw some broccoli in it and I am a happy girl!

YUM!!  My favorite dish.  This is a recipe that I have several variations of.  Today I used store bought cheese tortellini (deli section) as my pasta.

1/4+ cup olive oil (eye ball it), 3-4 cloves garlic chopped, 1/4 onion slices in medium wedge cut and 1 tablespoon butter. I add 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes

Onions & Garlic in olive oil & butter

Onions & Garlic in olive oil & butter

Saute over low heat to caramelize for about 20 minutes.  Meanwhile heat  water to boil and cook pasta according to package directions.  During the last 2 minutes and about 1 broccoli crown cut up to cooking pasta.  Drain and set aside.

Cooked Pasta & Broccoli

Cooked Pasta & Broccoli

After onions and garlic mixture has caramelized and pasta and broccoli and stir to coat and heat thoroughly and serve with a  sprinkle of grated Parmesan cheese!

Add past and broccoli

Add past and broccoli

Serve it up!

Serve it up!

YUM!!!!!!

This is truly my favorite dish.  I grill a chicken breast or two and slice to add on top when I have them handy.

May 8, 2009 - Posted by | Italian, recipes | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. simple and delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

    Comment by lailablogs | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank You so much for the comment! I have been making this dish for about 20 years for myself and my friends and family when they visit. They always love it!

      Comment by winterwheat1 | May 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

