Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Enchiladas filled with chicken, green chile’s and cream cheese

These green chile and chicken enchiladas filled with cream cheese & diced onion and then topped with Salsa Verde sauce  hit the spot tonight!

Enchilada with chicken, green chili and cream cheese salsa verde

Enchilada with chicken, green chile and cream cheese salsa Verde

These  are super easy and wonderful and kitchen friendly in this intense July heat here in Arizona.   I cooked chicken breasts (with ribs) in the crock pot today and by 4:00 it it just fell off the bones!  You can always use a rotisserie chicken from the market to make things even easier.  This is what you need:

Tortillas (I used flour but use what you like)
Can of whole green chile’s
Small block of cream cheese ( I used fat free, gotta save calories where I can!)
Diced onion (to taste, I love them)
Shredded Chicken
Shredded cheddar & Jack cheese
1 jar of green chili Salsa Verde enchilada sauce

I spray a casserole dish with cooking spray and lay the tortilla in the dish then add the filling.  The cream cheese slice (about 1/4 inch thick) goes on the bottom then a whole green chile, chicken, onion  and then pour on some salsa verde enchilada sauce (1/8 to 1/4 cup, eye ball it).  Roll the tortilla in the dish and it will coat as you roll.  Bake in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. to brown the tortillas a little, this makes them not so soggy.  (I you do prefer them soggy just pour the sauce of the top and bake for 30 minutes).    Take out and pour the rest of the Enchilada Sauce over the top and sprinkle with shredded cheese, put bake in the oven for about 10 minutes.

Enchiladas ready for the oven

Enchiladas ready for the oven

These are so easy and good!  I am only cooking for one right now and I told myself ..only make two…well they are so easy and I just had to fill the dish!  Now I will be feeding some friends.  They freeze well by the way for a quick lunch or dinner.  I had some pico de gallo from the other night and I topped mine off with that.  I hope you enjoy!

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | Chicken, Mexican, recipes | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Next time I make these I will pour more Salsa Verde over the top in addition to the yummy Pico De gallo.

    Comment by winterwheat1 | July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

