Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Another Egg Free Recipe: Chocolate dipped Macaroons!

This recipe came from the a blog I subscribe to http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/06/19/chocolate-dipped-coconut-macaroons/ I left a comment on the post regarding the use of a substitute for the egg and she got right back to me with an answer.  Use 1/4 mashed banana in place of the egg.  I finally made these last night.  They are so good!  I am not sure what a Macaroon is supposed to taste like but I have been seriously missing out all of these years if this is it!

Macaroons chocolate dipped and without eggs!

Macaroons chocolate dipped and without eggs!

I wanted to take a picture last night after they set but the natural light of course was gone.  Here is the Macaroon fresh out of the refrigerator  this morning.  I also used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet thinking it might go well with the Banana.  This is definitely something to keep in the fridge especially in Arizona (where we everything in the fridge).  Check out her recipe.  It is so easy and the use of sweetened condensed milk, coconut flakes, vanilla, a little salt and that 1/4 mashed banana turns into  heaven when baked and dipped in chocolate.  I promise to share with my friends.  I again used fat free sweetened condensed milk and they were great.  Egg Free!  I love it.  Thank you Brown Eyed Baker!

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/06/19/chocolate-dipped-coconut-macaroons/

July 9, 2009 - Posted by | Dessert, Egg Free, recipes | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I’m so excited that the mashed banana worked out for you. I bet it tasted fabulous!!!

    Comment by Michelle | July 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you so much again! These are so good and now my favorite! I still can’t believe I can eat a macaroon!
      Jeanene

      Comment by winterwheat1 | July 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you again!! Everyone I share these with loves them!

      Comment by winterwheat1 | July 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

