Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Ever ordered the “China Coast Chicken Salad” from the Islands?

This Chinese Chicken Salad  is my version of  The Islands Restaurant ” China Coast Chicken Salad”   My favorite on the menu! The dressing is egg free.

I am constantly searching for my favorite recipes on the Internet to make at home.  If  I can not find one I study the dish and read a ton of recipes until I figure out the ingredients (or get close).  I have merged a couple of recipes to come up with this salad which is my all time favorite!

Chinese Chicken Salad with Mandrin Oranges

Chinese Chicken Salad with Mandarin Oranges

I searched the Internet and came up with several salad mixtures with crunchy cabbage and other veggies but there was not one that had it the way I like it at The Islands Restaurant.   I came up with this list:

For the Chinese Salad

1/2 Head Cabbage
1/2 Head Iceberg  Lettuce
3-4 chopped Green Onions including most of the green tops
1 cucumber peeled and chopped
3 Stalks of Celery chopped
1 Large Carrot shredder or chopped
1 Can Sliced Water Chestnuts
1 15oz Can of Mandarin Oranges, drained
1 Package of Ramen Noodles


Shredded  Chicken
Cooked  (You can use a Rotisserie Chicken from the market)

I chopped and sliced all of the above ingredients and put in large bowl to refrigerate while I make the dressing.

Chinese Chicken Salad with Dressing

Chinese Chicken Salad with Dressing

The Dressing I wanted to taste like the  “China Coast” salad at the Islands so I found here at this Web Blog Recipelink.com

I had to modify the recipe to make it “Egg Free”.  You can make it the way it is posted on the web site( Click the link above)   Here is the way I adapted the recipe to be egg free and also what I had in the fridge!

Like the China Coast Dressing but Egg Free

1/3 Cup Yogurt
1/4 cup Marie’s Honey Mustard Dressing (in the produce section)
4 Tbsp Rice Vinegar
2 Tbsp Sesame oil
1 Tbsp Soy Sauce
1/4 Garlic Powder
Whisk the above ingredients in a small bowl and refrigerate for about an hour.   Break the Ramen noodles into small pieces and place on foil sheet in the oven at 350 for about 5 minutes (keep an I on them) to brown  a little (helps make them crunchy) and assemble the salad.  I keep the salad separate from the chicken, and the noodles and dressing in their containers to keep everything fresh and not soggy.

July 13, 2009 - Posted by | Asian, Chicken, Egg Free, recipes, Salad | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

