Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Braised Short Ribs and a Dutch Oven!

My first attempt cooking in my new Red Dutch Oven.  Braised Short Ribs!

The big guy say’s that is was way better than the pictures and I could not agree more.  This is the way to do it.  I am not sure how I got through my love of kitchen gadgets and cookware with out ever owning one before.  Who Knew??

 

Braised Short Ribs

Braised Short Ribs

New Dutch Oven

I had  the Big Guy go see the Butcher and tell him that I wanted Short Ribs to Braise.  The Guy was my hero and took care of him.  Here is a look at the goods he brought home

3.5 Lbs Short Ribs

3.5 Lbs Short Ribs

Dredged in flour and S&P, brown on all sides in Olive Oil

Dredged in flour and S&P, brown on all sides in Olive Oil

After ribs are browned place all in Dutch Oven and cover.   Place in 450 degree oven for 40 minutes.

Saute vegtables in olive oil for about 6-8 minutes

Saute vegetables in olive oil for about 6-8 minutes

I used 2 each, carrots, celery,  red potatoes, sweet potatoes, then  saute in 2 tablespoons of olive oil for about 6-8 minutes.  After ribs are browned remove meat from Dutch oven and put on plate to rest.  Toss the vegetables in the pot and and add 1 cup of red wine and 2 cups of beef broth.  Stir up all the brown bits and bring to boil.

Add 2 cloves of chopped garlic, 2 tablespoons of fresh rosemary and 1+ tablespoons of sage (to taste).  Now add the meat in and stir!  Cover and cook down until meat is tender (I had to add another cup of beef broth as it cooked down).

The sauce will thicken.  I cooked for another hour on medium/low heat (enough for slow boil).

Then you are ready to serve!

March 2, 2011 - Posted by | Beef, recipes | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

    Comment by My Grandparent's Kitchen | March 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

