Winterwheat

Just some notes to friends

Poblanos Stuffed With Cheddar & Chicken

We have been in a mood lately for Stuffed Peppers since we have 7 Plants 100’s of Peppers from Jalapeno’s, Anaheim, Serrano, Green & Red Bell Peppers and Poblanos!  This dish was amazing to eat and beautiful to look at!  The pictures just did not do it justice.  Poblano Peppers as I have also seen in the stores labeled: Ancho Chili’s (it may be just me but they look the same) have a mild to medium heat and are awesome stuffed.  I just can not say it enough, you just have to try them! I found this recipe at Fine Cooking, read all of the reviews and went to work on making them.

DSC_0458-001

DSC_0440DSC_0441-001DSC_0444-002DSC_0447-001

We topped them off with a Tomatillo Avocado Salsa loaded with our home grown Jalapeno’s.  Unbelievable!  I followed the recipe mostly… I can not help myself from making little changes.  I think they were for the better.

DSC_0452-001

Pablanos Stuffed with Cheddar and Chicken

4 Pablano Chiles
2 Medium Tomatoes Quartered
1/2 White or Yellow Onion Quartered
2 Cloves Garlic Quartered
1 tsp. Dried Oregano
1 tsp. Ground Cumin
Pinch of Kosher Salt
1 Tbs Olive Oil
2  Cups Shredded Cooked Chicken (I used Chicken Breasts)
1 1/2 Cups Cooked White Rice (Made in Rice Cooker)
2 1/2 Cups Shredded Cheese (I used 1 1/2 cup sharp cheddar and 1 cup pepper jack)
1/4 Cup Chopped Cilantro
1/2 Medium size Lime
Generous pinch of cinnamon

Heat oven to Broil and line baking sheet with foil.  Slice each pepper fro the stem to the tip and place on baking sheet under broiler for 5-8 minutes turning every few minutes to make sure they are blackened on all sides.  Take chilies out and cool until you can handle them. Then take a spoon and scoop out the seeds and core, peel off blackened skin and discard.  Spray Casserole dish with olive oil and place peppers in and wait to stuff!

At this time I tuned on my rice cooker to get the rice going as you start on the filling, you do not want it sitting around getting cold. 

In Food Processor: puree tomatoes, onion, garlic oregano, cumin, cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of salt.  Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add puree and cook until most liquid has evaporated and the mixture looks thick, stir constantly.   Add Chicken and continue to stir to heat thoroughly.  Remove from heat, add rice and 1 cup pepper jack (if using two different kinds) and 1/ of the Cheddar.  Stir to combine, add cilantro and lime juice then season with salt and pepper.  Stuff all four Pablano peppers to heaping (mine were) and then place in oven and bake at 400 for 20 minutes.  Add the last cup of Cheddar cheese on top of Stuffed Chilies and return to oven and place on broil for 2-3 minutes to melt the cheese.

Serve Immediately!!!!!

We served it with a Tomatillo Avocado Salsa LOADED with Jalapeno’s from the garden.  I think I used about 10!  I am Posting that next!  Again I used a recipe found on the internet then…made it to our taste.  Surprisingly it was not that hot considering all the Jalapenos.  The Tomatillo’s and Avavocado seemed to mellow it out.  I cannot wait to serve them to guests!  This was truly outstanding!!

November 11, 2012 Posted by | Cheese, Chicken, Egg Free, Main Dish, Mexican, recipes, Sauce's & Salsa's, Vegetables | , , , | Leave a comment